Bringing Home The Meyer Lemon, Garlic And Weeds

So I’m slow dancing around my kitchen with a head of garlic in one hand and a sweet meyer lemon in the other. I’m singing that one about the bicycle made for two. I don’t know it yet, but there are glitter canons hidden under the presses on the wall. They go off with a bang. BUT, wait, what’s this now? Yes, instead of glitter, they shoot organic weeds!!! There are flowers and everything. Yeah, I know, right, the dream. I gasp and look from the garlic to the lemon and back again and I say: ‘Did…did you…oh my god you guys…that is…I’m speechless…that is the most thoughtful thing anyone has ever installed in my kitchen’. All three of us are crying at this stage, smiling from ear to ear, but sobbing too. Then, I give each of them one last hug, carefully slice them up and add them to the following dish…

Pumpkin, Feta, Lemon Salad

Roasted Pumpkin, Feta & Meyer Lemon

Serves 4

400g pumpkin
200g feta
4 cloves garlic
One meyer lemon
1 tbsp olive oil
Sea salt
A mixture of salad leaves, weeds, rocket, something like that

1. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celsius
2. Cut your pumpkin and feta into equal sized cubes, about 1.5 cm along each side
3. Slice the garlic into slivers
4. Cut the lemon into about ten very thin slices, leave the ends for dressing your salad before serving, and then quarter each slice
5. In a bowl, combine the pumpkin, feta, garlic and lemon slices with the olive oil and season
6. Tip everything onto a baking tray and bake for about 25 minutes
7. Remove tray from oven and pile the contents onto your washed salad leaves, before squeezing a little extra lemon juice over the top
8. YUMMO

I had a hard time tracing the origins of my recent preoccupation with hunting down some really great garlic. It was in the comments section of this post on Susan Jane White’s blog. Perhaps reading the comments on every post on the site separates the casually interested follower from the gushing fangirl. Anyway, Suuuuuusan says that fresh garlic should be sweet. That it turns bitter with age. I guess I know this. But, I got to thinking that I don’t know how often I get a chance to use really great, really fresh garlic. Now I feel an obsession coming on and I feel that this obsession will be largely facilitated by Morganics Farm‘s organic garlic. I picked it up on my second trip to Eveleigh Market, along with a single meyer lemon (so excited re: pizza, sandwiches, salad, pancakes, etc etc etc) and a bag of weeds from Champion’s Mountain Organics. V V V V V V V NICE. Also, let the record (below) show, that there were also KITTENS and FLOWERS.

IMG_9139

Eveleigh flowers

Morganics Garlic

Leave a Reply

