Bringing Home The Poppy Seeds and Millet

IMG_7573

That’s 15 euro, I said, I’m so sorry, I said.

Shock. Like a thud. Then, slowly, between thin, shallow breaths, the lady: ‘oats…aren’t…sexy…anymore‘. Her cheeks reddened, she leaned in closer, whispered: ‘What is sexy is…quinoa…flakes‘.

I think all porridge is sexy and has a great personality too. Millet porridge is one of my favourites. I just restocked. Then I saw this. I had previously decided that if I keep making the same cake recipe with different adaptations maybe I will learn about baking. So, I keep making Anna Jones‘ Seeded Banana Bread from her book, A Modern Way To Eat. She’s wonderful. Okay, anyway, the recipe calls for 150g of little seeds. I put in 75g of poppy seeds. Then I added 75g of millet. I told the millet that if anyone asks, it’s to lie and say it is a little seed. Nobody asked. Great. I gave similar instructions to some baked apples and fresh blackberries. They were to pretend to be bananas. I don’t know if I should just make an apple cake when I have apples. Like, there is a really good-looking one in the same book, just five pages back. Anyway, these apples I picked from the garden. I learned that if an apple is ripe it will part quite willingly from the tree. Your apple knows what is best. Trust your apple and it will reward you with delicious cake.

IMG_7596

Click below to see the recipe…

125g plain flour
125g plain wholemeal or spelt flour
125g light brown sugar
75g poppy seeds*
75g millet*
a good pinch of sea salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 medium apples, baked, cooled and pressed through a sieve**
100g blackberries**
grated zest and juice of one unwaxed lemon
2 tablespoons camelina oil***
2 tablespoons yoghurt, any kind
2 organic or free-range eggs, beaten

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees celsius, fan 180 degrees celsius or gas mark 6. Butter and flour a non-stick 450g loaf tin.

In a bowl combine all of the dry ingredients. That’s the flours, sugar, seeds, millet, salt and baking powder.

In another bowl slightly mash the blackberries through the apple, they should be well combined, but it’s nice to have some bigger bits of blackberries remaining. Now add the lemon juice and zest, camelina oil, yoghurt and eggs and mix well.

Then mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until combined and spoon it all into your loaf tin. Bake in the oven for about 40-45 minutes. I have found the cake may need longer depending on the adaptations made to the ingredients. If you find that it is beginning to burn during the cooking time, just loosely cover it with some tin foil.

Take the cake out of the oven and eat it. Eat loads of it. All of it. Don’t stop. Share it if you want to. When you’ve eaten it all, make another one, and then eat that one too.

*Here, the original recipe calls for 150g of little seeds.
**Three medium ripe bananas are the original ingredient here.
***Anna Jones uses olive oil in her recipe. I am just crazy stupid in love with the distinctive taste and aroma of camelina oil at the moment. It comes through really good and strong when used in this recipe.
…Other adaptations I’ve tried have included plums instead of bananas, coconut instead of seeds, and a gooey middle of nutella inspired by this recipe and the ‘nutella crisis’.

Hey, look, here is another great adaptation of the same recipe.

Leave a Reply

